Wednesday, April 2, 2008

Rauff, Hasen and Bashir resign from parliament seats

Leader of the Sri Lanka Muslim Congres (SLMC)Rauff Hakeem, Chairman Hasen Ali and General Secretary Bashir Segu Dawood have resigned from their parliamentary seats in order to contest the forthcoming Eastern PC elections.
Rauff Hakeem for Trincomalee District, Hasen Ali for Ampara district and
Segu Dawood for Batticolo District will contest for the election They wll contest with UNP alliance under UNP elephant symbol.

Memorandum handed over against war in Madhu area

Around a thousand protestors led by Mannar Bishop Rayappu Joseph have gone to the Mannar Divisional Secretariat to hand over a memorandum, against both the LTTE and Sri Lankan forces waging war in the Madhu area.

SLMC Hisbullah crosses over to the Govt

Sri Lanka Muslim Congress Batticaloa district strongman M.L.A.M. Hisbullah crossed over to the government and placed his signature for the UPFA nomination list for the Eastern Polls at the President’s House a short while ago.